My on-again/off-again fling with Magic: the Gathering

At last, after journeys long and arduous, I have returned to you, faithful blog. Sorry I was gone for so long. Life intruded.

There is stuff I want to talk about! Lots of stuff. Well, a few things, really. Had to choose what to write about, and I decided it should be Magic: the Gathering.

Magic: The Gathering card back

Also known as “why I was always broke as a kid.” Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Like all the cool kids, I played this game back in the day. I believe I started when I was in junior high. I’m not talking about “Oh, yeah, I preferred the Guildpact expansion over Dissention.” I played the core game, people. There were no expansions. So, spending all my allowance on booster packs wasn’t that big of a deal. I had at least some chance of “catching them all,” if I may quote the Pokemon. No way I could do that now. I’m one of those people who couldn’t stand not having, if not all the cards, at least a good chunk of them.

I kept playing through high school. Empty classrooms on lunch breaks were perfect for this. I remember losing a lot of matches. Actually, I don’t remember ever winning during that time. Truly a fact that boggles the mind of the game-obsessed me of the present.

Much later in life, I got to play again with some of the same friends I played with back in high school. My cards were long gone by then, so I bought a premade deck (Going Rogue, specifically). Also borrowed decks from my friends, who still had their old collection. And hey, this time I started winning a few. I was especially proud to do it with my Going Rogue deck because it let me imagine a swarm of wicked faeries tearing my opponents apart.

So, I guess I was just a crappy deckbuilder back in high school. Maybe I’d do better if I tried again today? I’ll never know.

My friends and I stopped playing years ago, and I packed my deck away. When I was going through stuff recently, I found it, and it made me remember all this. I love Magic. I wish it wasn’t such a moneysink, or I might try to get back into it. But at least I have memories.

And the old Microprose game, of course. The cards may all be old, but I much prefer it to the new Duels of the Planeswalkers. For one thing, and I know it’s a minor detail, but in the old game all you have to do is hover over a card and it will show you a larger version off to the side. In the new game, you have to scroll the mouse wheel. Like I said, minor nitpick. Also, the new one is too flashy and dramatic. The old game plays just like the tabletop version. It’s a thing of beauty.

It’s just too bad I can’t recreate my Going Rogue deck in it. Beware tiny faerie death.

And now I must get ready for work. In my next post, I may talk about the setting I’m tinkering with. Or maybe not.

You have something to say? Say it.

