The story that would not die; tic-tac-toe squared; I want to read something, but can’t unless it gets Kickstarted.

How’s the creativity going, Hob?”

I’m glad you asked! Because I have good news and bad news. Or maybe both items are bad. Not sure about one of them yet.

I’ll start with the (definite) bad. I have not been devoting the time I should to my creativity. I know, bad writer, no treat. To be fair, I’ve had a busy time of it. For one thing, we’re looking for a place to live. Yet despite my perfectly valid excuse, I know I’ve had pockets of time here and there I could have used for my creativity. Hey, I’m a work in progress. I won’t let myself get stressed if I can’t manage because of a busy schedule, but I will still try harder to find that time.

Okay, the (maybe) good news: I’m not giving up on my current story yet. I have a rewrite planned. It incorporates elements from earlier drafts that I cut for different reasons. I think I might be able to make these bits work the second time around. It helps, and hurts so bad, that I’m changing the ending again. Hopefully, this last rewrite will be the last one, and I can polish it up and get it out there for people to read.

Unless, of course, this story is going to be like a jalopy I keep in my yard, tinkering with whenever I feel the urge. Forever. A never-ending project, a puzzle I never quite solve. Who knows? I will work on other things someday. Soon. But right now I’m not willing to give up on this one. Besides, the elements I’m bringing back in make the story weirder, and that’s a good thing!

If only there was a way to make tic-tac-toe fresh and exciting…”

Dude, there totally is! Just discovered it today, over at the Math with Bad Drawings blog. It’s nine games of tic-tac-toe played within one gigantic game of tic-tac-toe. Go read the article. I love the idea. And you can play anywhere with a few easily carried tools. Or in the sand with a stick!

Hey, have you heard about that Better Angels roleplaying game written by Greg Stolze for Arc Dream Publishing? Makes me wish there was a novel along the same tone.”

Then I have great news for you, person asking me all these questions and setting up my post so perfectly. Greg Stolze is actually writing a novel called Sinner. Nay, scratch that — he’s finished it. He just needs a little Kickstart to get it out to us, the people. I’ve read the first chapter and want to read more. So, in my own self interest, I’m spreading the word. It has three days and just needs a little more cash. Go on, help out.

I love Kickstarter. I’ve gotten some awesome things from it. I’m trying to limit my involvement lately because it can be a dangerous pastime, both in addictiveness and in risk. But Greg Stolze is a pro, and I have faith in the project.

And with that, I dissolve into the night. *looks outside and notices it’s early afternoon* Um, you can leave first if you want. This might take a while.

You have something to say? Say it.

