Recommendation: Canada

No, I’m not recommending the entire country to my north (though hey, if it’s your thing, go nuts). The theme of my recommendation is television shows from Canada. There are two of them! I assume they make more, but these are the two I’ve found recently.

  1. Lost Girl

When I first heard about this one, it was a headline in passing, and I didn’t take the time to read the article. I’m glad I gave it a chance when I saw it on the front page of Netflix later on.

Here’s the synopsis from its IMDb page:

Lost Girl focuses on the gorgeous and charismatic Bo, a supernatural being called a succubus who feeds on the energy of humans, sometimes with fatal results. Refusing to embrace her supernatural clan system and its rigid hierarchy, Bo is a renegade who takes up the fight for the underdog while searching for the truth about her own mysterious origins.

The supernatural beings, by the way, are the Fae. Honestly, that’s probably one reason I passed on it at first: a succubus being classified as fae. Feels wrong to me. I’m weird like that. But I got over it and watched it anyway, and it’s pretty damn good, I think.

Some of my favorite things about it: the hidden world parallel to our own, the mystery of Bo’s origins (answers come, and more answers await), and the dynamic between the characters, especially Bo/Kenzie.

And hey, if you like sexy shows, this one’s pretty sexy.

  1. Continuum

Thank you, Netflix, for thinking — knowing? — I would like this show.

From IMDb:

A detective from the year 2077 finds herself trapped in present day Vancouver and searching for ruthless criminals from the future.

Now, there is only one actual instance of time travel, but it is still very much a time travel show. There are questions of paradox, altering the timeline, all that sort of thing. Which I love. I’ve always loved time travel. I subscribe to the many-worlds interpretation nowadays (at least according to a quick Google search, I do).

I wish I could tell you more about these shows, but I’m paranoid about spoiling people. Plus, I’m not that far into Continuum yet. If you don’t trust my judgment, do some more research on your own. Hey, if you have Netflix, just watch the pilots. Minimal investment. Lost Girl starts really picking up in later seasons, I think.

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to read. I need to relax before I keel over.

You have something to say? Say it.

