Branching timelines; the quest for subtitles; all card games should have goblins

Time for one of my random posts, Frankensteined together from smaller posts to make a monster!

*flash of lightning, dramatic music*

Why in the hell did I start writing again?

Still hard at work on the second draft, but I’m coming towards the end. But which end? Now I seem to have two possible paths. My original plan has me finishing the story after two more scenes. While working on the current scene, though, a troublemaking voice in my head asks, “Hey, why not just end it here?”

Whoa now. Hey. HEY.

*pulls the handbrake of the Revision Party Bus and comes to a screeching sideways halt*

Which of you little jerks said that? Was it you, Genuine Idea to Make the Story Better? Or was it you, Getting Tired of Working on the Second Draft and Trying to Cut It Short?

Damn it. Damn it.

See, now I have to pause in actual revisions to think about this. Thinking is good and all, but it’s hard to measure productivity during that phase. Thoughts don’t have a unit of measurement that I know of. It would be cool if they did. Give me something to add to my log. “Revised 6 pages, thought 23 plorpbits.”

Sometimes it’s fun to read a show.

My wife and I continue the search for a new k-drama to watch. We tried Birth Secret and Dating Agency Cyrano on DramaFever, and both are okay, but we both agree that we can find better. Thought we might see what Netflix has to offer. I love DramaFever’s large selection, but the site has been very unstable for us lately, and every time we reload to get it to work, we have to watch at least five ads before we get back to the show. Then it messes up again and the process repeats. I hate ads (unlike the majority of people who love them, right?). Maybe we’ll come back another time and hope it works better. It’s too bad, too, because I just got an email from them recommending a show called Faith that has some time travel, and it sounds cool. A bit historical, a bit modern. It is not on Netflix. Sad face.

The search continues.

Go buy this and they’ll give me money! No, not really. But you should still buy it.

It’s been awhile since I recommended anything to you fine folk. Let’s see…I know, I’ll recommend a card game.

It’s a little gem I helped Kickstart called Goblins Drool, Fairies Rule.

The name of the game LIES!

The name of the game LIES!

It’s aimed for a younger audience, but damn it, I say adults can enjoy it, too. Each card has one side that’s a fairy and one that’s a goblin, and each side has a name and a symbol (sun, moon, mushroom, and frog). You play cards from your hand, and if the name rhymes with any of the cards in the “fairy ring,” those cards flip to their opposite side. Then, any cards with the same symbol as the card you played get added to your hand. The goal is to either get six fairies or get rid of all your goblins (unless you play the variant rules, which is six goblins or no fairies). My wife and I have played it twice since it arrived in the mail, and she’s beaten me twice. I’ll get her one day!

It’s a simple game, and I wish there were more cards, but it’s charming and I love the artwork. My favorite cards are Pixie Power for the fairies and Earwax Stew for the goblins. Release an expansion, I say! Anyway, I say you should buy it now, especially if you have little gamers in the house. If you want to see it in action first, here’s a video. And with that, I am off to think about how my story’s timeline ends.

You have something to say? Say it.

