Shape of the Shifter (AKA a State of the Blog post)

How is everyone this fine Monday morning (well, afternoon or evening by the time I post this)? I know it’s not everyone’s favorite day, but since I usually work at least one day on the weekend, it is as meaningful (or meaningless) as any other day. So I don’t have a case of the Mondays. I don’t even have a single can of it.

Okay, enough of my weirdness. Seems like a good time for a “State of the Blog” post, which I will be calling the “Shape of the Shifter” from now on. Really, you should have garnered this from the title. Right up there. *points above his head, as if the title is literally above his head and he is actually these very words you are reading, which is a strange delusion indeed*

I am proud of myself for maintaining a three-post-a-week habit so far. After such a long period of inactivity, it’s a real breakthrough. I want to keep this going. But here’s the problem: I don’t have a lot of time. Mostly due to my day job, but other obligations demand my attention, too. Eating, bathing, family, the usual. Attempts to ignore these don’t end up well. So what little free time I have must be used wisely.

My blog can be a wise investment, of course. It is my voice in the void. It is one of the ways I connect with others, especially since I rarely socialize in person. But here’s the thing: how can I be a creative type if I am not creating? A lot of the content I’ve been posting is creative, yes, but pure humor is not what I’m trying to make a career on. I may be somewhat funny –- maybe –- but I don’t see myself as a comedy writer. I’m no Steve Martin or Dave Barry or anything. I’m just a guy who hopes I can get a laugh once in awhile to get/keep people interested in me and my future works.

I might be rambling a bit. Sorry, it happens.

Let me get to the point, then. I’m investing a little too much time in the blog and not enough in my fiction right now. This has to change.

I want to stick with three posts a week because it seems like a good number. Not so much that people get sick of me, not so little that people forget me. The current structure is like this: creative-random-creative, Monday-Wednesday-Friday. I think I need to change one of those creatives into a random.

I love doing the creative blog posts. I do. But I tend to spend too much time on them because I want them to be good. I want all my posts to be good, but those most of all because they are a window into my creative space. Because of how much I put into them, I need to set a limit. With extreme reluctance, mind you. I’m not convinced my “regular” posts are as interesting. I live an unexciting life. But the benefit is that they do not take as long.

I might switch up the days, too, due to my schedule. Tuesday-Thursday-Friday, perhaps? Let’s go with that for now. Next post would be Thursday, then.

So, if you come to my blog for my creative attempts at funny stuff–the socially awkward guides, spoof articles, and the like–expect to see them on Tuesdays. Thursdays and Fridays will be random days–fiction recommendations, personal stuff, whatever.

There, now that that’s done, I can post something more interesting next time. What could it be, you ask? No idea! 

You have something to say? Say it.

